Thursday, December 17, 2009

Last Second Christmas gift from KIDOZ!


For my initial blog post on KIDOZ look here

When I initially was approached about this program I was guarded.  Could I really have a place that is safe for the little dude to play online safely?  Even putting him on Disney, I would have him screaming within minutes about the pop ups taking over the screen., or him hitting the pull down menu and getting lost somewhere.  With KIDOZ there is none of those issues after months of using it.  I can have him say he wants to play and not have to worry about what he is clicking as it is like a kids version of Firefox or Explorer where they can see video clips from children shows, browse sites, and play games. 

Now I have kept up to date with KIDOZ as they have been tweaking the browser and refining, what seems like almost daily.  Now they have launched KIDOZ 2.0 with some exciting new features with more content and creative outlets for your kiddo as well as parental tools for you!   The Plus package of KIDOZ comes is only $4.19 a month lower them most sites that still don't give you even a fraction of the stuff you get with KIDOZ.   I know many of my readers will say, well my kiddo can't read yet, well with their web based email setting they can draw in lieu of write, expressing themselves all the way!

Not sold on what I have told you?  You know I am tough about what I let get into this house.  Try KIDOZ free by clicking on any of the links and download it and try it for free yourself.  Leave your input here or better yet email them and tell them what you think.  What you like and what you don't.  They love the input! 

Oh did I mention I am giving away 5, yes 5 FREE Plus Packages for Christmas.  That is a (5)one year subscriptions from KIDOZ to your kiddo, that's a 50 dollar value.  Entering is easy.  Leave a comment as to who you are gifting this to if you win!  You can also comment about tweets you do for the contest.  Tell a friend!   IT begins now, and I will chose the names with a random number generator on Tuesday December 22nd, 2009. 

Merry Christmas!

I was given a Plus Package for this review.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Cleaning Up the Computer Made Easy


My laptop is my life line.  Since I am going back to school the most successful way I could think of to do so was doing it online.  Between that and all my social networking, Friends Live In My Computer Pictures, Images and Photos the poor thing is constantly on. When I am not on it you can guarantee either the Weatherman is checking out his Husker Blogs, or Little dude is hanging on Kidoz or Webkinz.  Needless to say there is stuff constantly being uploaded, downloaded, saved (mostly needlessly) all over my laptop.   I had been talking to the weatherman just last week about figuring out an easy way for me to clean it up and make it run faster.  Some how the Internet Gods were eavesdropping in on the conversation with us and I received an email asking if I would review a product called Windows 7 TuneUpSuite 4.7.1951 from a company called Windsty.com.

I was a little taken back, me do a review for a real software non kid related?  As long as it is not too difficult I figured I could stumble my way through it.   First I was all in a tizzy, I knew I should have taken that free Windows 7 when it was offered to me to review from the school, because however could I review this when I didn't have Windows 7?  See, I just usually don't do software reviews, period.  No reason to try to do something with an entity that is likely way too far above my pay grade!  Gawd forbid if I type in something wrong and BOOM, another dead laptop (Though I was assured as I was not the one using it when the last one died, it couldn't have been my fault). But, it's begining to run so slow, I needed to do something. slow computer Pictures, Images and Photos   Now, I here I sit with an offer to clean up my computer, and I don't have Windows 7 as I stated above.  I was told in my communication email not to worry if I didn't have Windows 7 yet, because this software supports: Windows 95/98/ME/NT/XP/2000/2003/Vista x32, Vista x64, and of course Windows 7.  I knew I was running on some sort of Vista (see again showing my smarts!) 

I thought since I was complaining about the slowing down of this laptop, I would give the folks at Windsty.com a shot.  The first thing I did after downloading the software was do a Disk Space analyzer, Umm yeah needless junk everywhere.  In places I didn't even realize!   I went to duplicate files finder next as I am the queen of loading something about 10 times if I can't find it right away (still wondering why the computer was running slow?)!  I had over 1543 items, that's over 700 duplicates (mostly pics in my defense) this program dug up!  I erased them.  And went to the Junk Files Cleaner next, I am BFF with this part of the software, again useless junk all over the computer, including entire programs downloaded on my extra drive, and I didn't even know about.  I also found the missing assignment for art class I redid last fall because I couldn't find it, it was hidden in another drive.  Windows 7 TuneUpSuite, considered it junk, what a coincidence, I considered that class the same thing!

According to the site, "Windows 7 TuneUpSuite is your all-purpose tool for better PC maintenance and security. Plus, it protects your computer from system crashes, repairs and maintains your PC health, removes unneeded Internet clutter, regains valuable disk space, cleans your registry and tweak windows to perform better."  As a just a notch above novice computer geek, I would have to agree.  The steps to do each are straight forward, and as it says removes clutter.  I was also thrilled with the fact I could find the cleaning stuff all in once place with such ease. So if your computer is running slow, and you are looking for a one stop easy place to get a quick tidying up of the ol' computer, I would suggest heading over to the folks at Windsty.com and look at all the cool software products they have to offer, including the Windows 7 TuneUpSuite 4.7.1951
Now my computer is running faster, making me happy, and I am guessing it's happy too!PC REPAIR, PC CLEAN DONE RIGHT Pictures, Images and Photos



*To comply with the new federal regulations, I am to disclose if I have been compensated for this review.  As I write this review I have received no compensation for my review.   I used the trial available to anyone.*

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Monkey Around Winner is...


TheSingleGirl said...

GIMME!

That was the winning comment.  Congrats to you and I will get mailing get your address so the Monkey knows where he gets to live now.

 
 
True Random Number Generator 27 Powered by RANDOM.ORG
 
 

Friday, October 30, 2009

Time to Monkey Around!!!



 If you want this Monkey, here is the deal-i-o:
  • Head over to  Mama Mel's ESTY shop and take a gander at her darling creations.  These are great gifts to give kiddos.  The Weatherman is getting a camo one!  Little Dude has a yellow monkey coming for Christmas from her also!  Had he been smaller you know he would want to be styling one of the tie onsies!
  • Check out her blog get to know this super cool lady!
  • You can just enter once by leaving a comment on THIS post, none of my other blogs count(thought comments there always welcomed)! You can Tweet about it, blog about it or FB about it (make sure you and I are friend ed on FB or twitter) once a day.
  • Tell your friends about it and have them enter.
  • Winner will be chosen from Random.org on 11-11-09. 
This is an EXCLUSIVE monkey made only for this giveaway, isn't he darling?  Here is a closer look.




 

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Heeltastic Review


I have in no way been compensated for this review.

You may have seen this commercial:


 Or seen this product one the 1st Season of Pitchmen:


Yes, I am talking about Heeltastic.  I was sceptical about it when I saw the previews for Pitchmen, but thought to myself, "Self wouldn't it be nice if it worked even a bit?"    I refuse to buy any product off the TV that doesn't clearly define final cost of product and shipping.  I waited for it to hit WalMart and bought it.  Curiosity got the best of me.  I have been using it for over a month and I will have to say, I love it.  My feet are markably softer, and I love the feeling when I put it on.  I put it before bedtime, and toss on some socks.  It doesn't tingle or warm persay, but it is a nice feeling.  The smell is great also, I really smell the lemon grass in the product.  I was worried that it would be greasy as it seems it would be after you first put it on.  It does absorb into your skin quite fast.  But I wouldn't reccomend walking around on hard surfaces for about 5 minutes, you may slip.  That's all I will say about it.  It is soft stick, if I had once thing to say about it to improve the product, I would like the application stick a bit less soft.  Is it worth 10 dollars HECK YES!  An inexpensive way to pamper your feet that takes minium amout of time, for those who are always on the go. Its fanststic!

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Dug up some Woof Woof Winners!


The Krazy Girl and Reagan whom she calls Reagan dog so as not to confuse with one of her own children!

-AND-

Carrie Fairy Thoughts for her Moms dog Susie.

Both one of the prizes named in the Woof Woof Giveaway.

Congrats to both winners!

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Woof Woof!


Rules for this one is simple, leave a comment on my blog and a way for me to contact the 2 winners. Winners will be chosen at random Wednesday 19th of August.



I have 2 sample sized bags of all natural dog food up for grabs. These were donated by Adams County Feed and SeeD in Hastings, NE.

Evo Large Bites and Diamond Extreme Athlete.

Evo is what our Havanese will eat, the ONLY thing he will eat. The "big bites" are only about 1/2 inch in size. Since switching to this food his teeth have improved greatly and the need to scale them at the vet annually is not needed.

As for the Diamond, I have no idea as to if Sully would touch it. So have your dog try it all out and see for yourself.

But wait there's More!!!


I will also be adding one full sized bottle of Fresh and Clean Dog spray with the sample bags of dog food. This is one of the ingredients I use to create my grooming spray for Sully.

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

He calls KIDO�Z, "His World"


For this review I used my son as the main reviewer. He was luke warm to the idea of going from the sites he is used to ( Playhouse Disney, Webkinz, ect), I really thought this review was going to be a disaster. I was pleasently surprised when he dove right in. I was able to look over his shoulder and not be right on top of him hitting ads to websites and pop ups! He doesn't call it by it's given name, but calls it, "His World" where he can play with Hot Wheels and other car games online. The browser os so much more than race cars though, but he really likes all the different racing games they have on there. And since it is our review, that is what it is all about!

There is a plethora of games that are gender neutral, and are specifically placed on the children friendly site called KIDO�Z. This site takes the best and most kid friendly from around the internet letting the children browse games, videos and sites geared only to them. No pop ups, no fear of salacious adult or even age inappropriate content, this is one of the best kid friendly browsers I have some across.

Many of you know I am very picky of the content that my son can surf through. Even Playhouse Disney ticks me off because of the pop ups, and don't even get me started on Noggin! There aren't those issues here.

Here are some facts about the site:

  • KIDO'Z brings the internet in a safe and easy way to kids
  • Kids can safely and independently surf sites, play games, and watch Youtube videos
  • Parents can adjust security settings and can customize content
  • UI is available in 17 languages and content is available in over 160 languages

One complaint, I can't get him off the computer as easy as I used to be able too! And since there are many sites bunched up on here you will likely hear the "I want..." once or twice after they play it.

Oh and did I mention the site is free? So don't just take MY word for it, try it yourself!

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Contest 1 Winner


The winner of the Uncubicled autographed book contest is Lisa Velasco! Please PM me or Josh your address via twitter for your prize. Enjoy!

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Did the gorilla attacked box during shipping?


Scale of 1(worst)-5(best) breakdown.

Shipping speed: Surprisingly fast-5
Status out of the box: Little scratched up, box ruined-3.5
Playability/fun for son-5
Worth the money: 5

My son is collecting the Imaginext toys, he loves them. He has been looking at this toy for a while, I just wasn't wanting to pay 20 bucks for it. Finding this one on sale for 10 dollars was a deal I couldn't pass up! He loves the toy. I was only put off by the fact that the box was more than tattered. Ripped, torn, and falling apart. All and all it was a deal, BUT Walmart needs to be more careful with the open toy packaging. Or make sure the gorilla doesn't get flustered in the shipping process and destroy the box.

Friday, July 10, 2009

Contest updates


I have received many entries, but continue to tell your friends. The more you get to enter, the better your odds! I am also working on another possible giveaway soon. If all goes according to plan, it will be green, and not involve any chickens!

Sunday, June 28, 2009

Giveaway #1


It is only fitting since it was this blogs kick off review...I am giddy with excitement to announce the first giveaway is for ONE autographed copy of Uncubicled By Josh Mcmains. Coming straight from him! How flipping cool is that?

I will be announcing by Wednesday how it will all go. I want it easy, by linking to the blog, why you think you should be the winner, and twitter!

I want a HUGE buzz for this book, it deserves it! Kick off is June 1st! Just keep the Diet Dr. Pepper (Vanilla Coke for me!) stocked up and let the fun begin on Wednesday!

*******************************************************************

Leave a message on
my review blog about why you should win Uncubicled. This will be your first entry any after than it up to you.

Add me @Krimsin and @uncubicled on twitter for one entry each. Tweet about contest once a day for extra entries.

Get others to add my follow my blog and say you turned them on to the contest is 2 entries per person. (They have to link to me, so I can see their blog, and/or twitter page)

Check out the book's webpage. I have a button on my page, link to it and post where you linked it to your own blog 1 entry, and make a quick blog about why you think you should win this book, for a entry. Follow my review blog for 5 extra entries.

Winner will also agree when done to leave a...Winner will also agree when done to leave a review after reading the book on Amazon and under my review (cut and pasted of Amazons review) on my blog. After two weeks I will tally up the entries everyone has and add your name to a hat that many times and have my son pull some lucky reader's name out.

Two super cool Mom Bloggers w/ a monster giveway!



Momdot.com and Skip to my Lou are giving away this monster gift, a $3800 MountainRange Swingset!

This is a MONSTER give way, and though it is not MY give a way, it is worth it to look up if you are a parent for sure. These ladies don't just have giveaways, they review and say it like it is. MY kind of girls! For complete details head on over to MomDot and see how easy it is to enter!

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Snoozer Buddy Bike


The problem:
Sully my Havanese is small with short legs, he only can run side by side with my bike for about .75 miles. Our usual bike ride is at least 2 miles. I would have to go back and droip him back off at home, or just leave him there to begin with. It can't be family time when one is left behind, can it?

My solution was scouring the internet for a bike basket that would
fit my furry, somewhat long dog, without interrupting my ride. I found the Snoozer Basket below, I purchased it in gray.

(stock photo)


The Snoozer Buddy Bike Basket installs to handle bars in only a few minutes with no tools necessary. The carry basket is made of a durable microfiber that easily and quickly wipes clean for pet parents who are on the go. Includes a removable inner pad and chin rest for pet's comfort, removable rain cover with opening for dog's head and multiple mesh pockets for treats, toys and more.
  • Easy handlebar installation sets up in minutes with no tools necessary
  • Durable microfiber exterior easily wipes clean
  • Removable inner pad and padded chin rest for added comfort
  • Features a rain cover with opening for dog's head
  • Includes a water bottle pocket and multiple mesh pockets for toys, chews & food
* * * * * * * * * * *

My 2 cents on the Snoozer:

Structure/Aesthetics:
Seems flimsy when you pull it from the box. I was worried about putting my almost 10lb Havanese in it. I thought about repackaging it and sending it right back, but in all fairness I decided to set it up and give it a once over.

I will give them high marks on choice of fabrics. The gray is more of a gray-blue, but soft and the use of fleece lining makes it look soft and comfy. I thought about thought about tossing Sully into it while it was sitting on the floor. He was not amused jumped out fast. In Snoozer's defense, Sully is not a box sitting type of dog.

The pockets are great! I can carry my son's water bottle and his Leapster 2. Not quite what they are used for, but it's usual for what I would use it for! There is also a rain cover for the dog attached to the one of pockets. This was a bonus I didn't realize as where I got this basket from didn't have this little perk listed that I saw.

There is a harness attachment for you to secure in your pat.
Sully is not a jumper, and settles himself inside. I honestly don't use them, but another good selling feature.

Installation:
I thought what the heck, I will put it on my bike and see it it is as simple as the instructions say. Basically unfold, place stability bar in bottom, attach to handle bars and rest stability bar to main tube of bike. It actually was that easy.

The True Test:
Now for the meat of it, will the dog like it. Sully is not a rider. He is categorized more as a yacker. I was really hoping not to have to clean up puke from his coat and my bike. He was shaking likew a leaf the first time he was placed in there. As I kicked off, I turned the basket sways more then I would ideally want it too. Sully was pleasantly content once we got going, and was rearing to go on the boke ride again today.


Pros:
Cute design, lightweight (I thought would be a con, but was wrong), Sully will use it (that should be a selling point for any owner that my super picky dog will enjoy it!). Solves a problem, letting you bring your small pet with you on longer bike rides. Can also be used as a carrier!

Cons:
Not a huge fan of the clips to attach to the handle bars or really the way the stability bar rests on the main pipe of the bike. That being said, if they were to change it up and put a strap like in the handle bars along with the stability bar to reduce the baskets sway, I would be VERY happy with it.

The Verdict:
When it comes down to it, it all comes down to how safe your pet will be. I like this product, even though initially I was worried. Pricing is erratic anywhere between 42-80+ bucks! My suggestion is find it at a dealer that is charging less, or has free shipping. I finally decided on Blue Planet Products who offered free shipping.

"Mom, are you sure about this?" He asks as he was shaking like a leaf.
I will pretend this is not a vehicle and try not to yack all over you!
Less than 1/4 way through the first ride he stopped shaking and started having fun.
He was much happier riding than getting dragged on a leash. Here he really was having fun. Barking up at me like he was ready to play!
This is his trying to look cool in front of other dogs look!


Sunday, June 21, 2009

Uncubicled- Kindle edition Review


I was very skeptical of the book when I first ran across it, why this book, I have so many others to read(about 298). There was just something about the book that said, "buy me, you won't be disappointed." I caved after a couple days and kept it in the Kindle for a couple weeks. Reading several other books the last being extremely lacking in action. All reviews point to this book being action packed, they were correct! I think we all have had that coworker we would have loved to smack in the face with a keyboard. That is how the action begins here. Any time I thought there would be a lag in the action, it revved up again. Though some call it disjointed, with all the characters, the jumps are necessary to gain a believable background for each character.

I was also thrilled with the length, many eBooks have been short and fell way short in the thrill. This was a book that took me over a week of reading when I had time to turn the Kindle on. That is a rarity for me, I usually bite through it in no time. This book also either leaves a satisfying close to it, or room to continue. The only reason for 4 out of 5 stars is a personal connection to a character that is killed off and I thought said person could have been used. I respect the reason for the demise, just wish it could have been later not on the plane. That is all I will say so as not to spoil the read for anyone else.

For a first book I think McMains did a bang up job. I look forward to more from him in the future. You can find more about the book on twitter.com @Uncubicled.
 

Krimsin's Reviews & Giveaways Copyright © 2008 Green Scrapbook Diary Designed by SimplyWP | Made free by Scrapbooking Software | Bloggerized by Ipiet Notez